Chilean Wine Terroirs: The New D.O. system

Official Denominación de Origen or D.O.

The primary Difference in the new system besides the recognition of Zones within some Sub-Regions is the designation of each Area into one of three categories from the Pacific to the Andes. This will give hints to the style of the wine, be it from cool coastal areas or the equally cool but high altitude areas of the Andes. Though not very large the Chileans have a great diversity of topography within some Sub-Region to work with, may we see cool climate Syrah from both the Coast and the Andes growing 30 km apart though showing decidedly different styles?

I can only hope. .

In this list I use these underscored letters to designate the different areas.

C    Costa (Coastal Areas)

E    Entre Cordilleras (Between the Mountains Areas )

A    Andes (Andean Areas)

The system came into effect in May 2011 it goes from largest area to smallest:


An Example would be:

Region Central Valley

Sub-Region Rapel Valley

Zone Colchagua Valley

Area Lolol Costa

Note Only some Sub-Regions have Zones. A Sub-Region or Zone may contain all three areas from Costa through the Entre Cordilleras into the Andes.

This system will give unique terriors in Chile the ability to promote their specific styles as has been done for many years in areas such as the Pirque area in the Maipo Valley Sub-Region of the Central Valley Region. Many don’t see the need for this complex system of unrecognizable names, but will realize the value of the system in years to come. I believe this is a very good start and new Areas will be added as they prove thier unique character to the world.

The links I have included take you to excellent information on the Wines of Chile website.


From North to South

Atacama Region

    Sub-Region Copiapo Valley

    Sub-Region Huasco Valley

Coquimbo Region

Sub-Region Elqui Valley


A Vicuna

A Paiguano

   Sub-Region Limari Valley


C Ovalle

E Punitaqui

A Monte Patria

A Rio Hurtado

    Sub-Region Choapa Valley


A Salamanca

A Illapel

Aconcaqua Region

    Sub-Region Aconcagua Valley


E Panquehue

    Sub-Region Casablanca Valley


C Casablanca

Central Valley Region

   Sub-Region San Antonio Valley

Zone Leyda


C San Juan

C Marga Marga Valley

    Sub-Region Maipo Valley


E Isla de Maipo

E Talagante

E Melipilla

E Alhue

E Maria Pinto

A Santiago

A Pirque

A Puente Alto

A Buin

   Sub-Region Rapel Valley

Zone Colchagua Valley


C LoLol

E Nancahua

E Santa Cruz

E Palmilla

E Peralillo

E Marchigue

A San Fernando

A Chimbarongo

Zone Cachapoal Valley


E Rancagua

E Peumo

A Requinoa

A Rengo

   Sub-Region Curico Valley

Zone Teno  Valley


E Rauco  

E Romeral

Zone Lontue Valley


E Sagrada Familia

A Molina

   Sub-Region Maule Valley

Zone Claro Valley


E Talca

E Pencahue

E San Rafael

A San Clemente

Zone Locomilla Valley


E San Javier

E Villa Alegre        

E Parral

E Linares

Zone Tutuven Valley


E Cauquenes

Southern Region

    Sub-Region Itata Valley


C Coelemu

C Portezuelo

E Chillan

E Quillon


    Sub-Region Bio Bio Valley


E Yubel

E Mulchen

Sub-Region Malleco Valley


E Traiguen

For a comprehensive map see:

3 thoughts on “Chilean Wine Terroirs: The New D.O. system

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s